Do you feel valued at work?

Minding the Workplace

“Employed adults who report feeling valued by their employer are significantly more likely to report they are motivated to do their very best for their employer and recommend their workplace to others.”

That was one of the compelling findings shared by Dr. David Ballard, director of the Psychologically Healthy Workplace Program of the American Psychological Association, in his welcoming presentation at “Work and Well-Being 2012,” a conference held in Chicago last week.

Dr. Ballard cited a recent survey showing that 72 percent of respondents agreed with the statement “I am motivated to do my very best work for my employer.”

However, there were huge divergences within the survey respondent group. Among those who reported feeling valued by their employer, that figure was 93 percent. By sharp contrast, among those who reported not feeling valued by their employer, the figure was 33 percent.

In other words, those who felt valued at work were

View original post 102 more words

3 comments

  1. Deb

    I do now! I haven’t always felt that way on the job but really appreciate my current boss and coworkers for making me feel that both I and my contributions are valued at this company. What a difference!

  2. Jose' Manuel Santiago

    During my first yr working at the org. I felt so, proud for the respect and support from my co-workers in my unit in particular from my supervisor. Until my old supervisor was promoted and a bully came aboard as new supervisor, we started feeling oppressed, as he questioned everything, rejected what was our ways of having regular staff mgt,,lack of recognitions a regular activities to promote congeniality a among the staff in our unit, not making himself available for feed back, missing schedule supervision, placing workers in conflicts with each other, encouraging division, sabotaging one’s work, spreading neg rumors and recruiting others inside org to harrass, making improper sexual innuendos with staff member of same sex, checking one spelling knowing English is their 2nd language and degrading individual in front other staff members, stealing one’s personal property, Cap, files key etc.

    • Irene

      I worked for a boss like that. He and several others did what Jose described to me. I felt so ashamed and wondered what I did to make him act like this towards me. It took me awhile that it was them and not me. It also taught me what behavioral indicators I should look out for and always be ready to move on to a better place.

Leave a Reply

