It’s a new legislative session. Take action to make severe workplace abuse illegal.

Photo by rawpixel.com on Pexels.com
The new two-year legislative session is officially underway. In a couple weeks, we’ll re-introduce the workplace anti-abuse Healthy Workplace Bill, to be championed by Senator Paul Feeney (D-Bristol Norfolk), get a docket number, and ask all of our state legislators to co-sponsor the bill. Then we’ll get a bill number that we’ll use to promote the bill for the rest of the session.

How many sponsors we obtained in past sessions:
2017-2018 session: 48
2015-2016 session: 58 
2013-2014 session: 39
2011-2012 session: 13 

How the rest of the two-year process works:
The Joint Committee on Labor and Workforce Development holds a public hearing sometime this spring, where they listen to our testimony. If you’d like to share your story, we ask you to prep it now and make sure you can read it in under two minutes.
If approved, the bill moves to the Senate. Senators examine the bill for legality, constitutionality, and the duplication or contradiction of existing law.
The bill moves to the Senate floor for debate and amendments.
The bill then heads to the House for the same process.
If the bill is rejected, three members of each branch draft a compromise bill.The bill gets enacted by the legislature.
The bill gets signed by the governor. Ninety days after the governor’s signature, the bill becomes law.

We have a head start this session
This session, we started getting support early. These 32 state legislators have committed to co-sponsoring the bill when we get a docket number toward the end of this month.

Senator Paul Feeney (D-Bristol Norfolk) (Lead Sponsor)
Senator Jo Comerford (D-Hampshire, Franklin, Worcester)
Senator Julian Cyr (D-Cape and Islands)
Senator Vinny deMacedo (R-Plymouth and Barnstable)
Senator Anne Gobi (D-Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire, and Middlesex)
Senator Michael O. Moore (D-Shrewsbury)
Senator Patrick O’Connor (R-Plymouth and Norfolk)
Senator Walter Timilty (D-Norfolk, Bristol, and Plymouth)

Rep. Ruth Balser (D-Newton)
Rep. Paul Brodeur (D-Melrose)
Rep. Mike Connolly (D-Cambridge)
Rep. Marjorie Decker (D-Cambridge)
Rep. Daniel Donahue (D-Worcester)
Rep. Dylan Fernandes (D-Barnstable)
Rep. Sean Garballey (D-Arlington)
Rep. Carmine Gentile (D-Sudbury)
Rep. Danielle Gregoire (D-Marlborough)
Rep. Jim Hawkins (D-Attleboro)
Rep. Stephan Hay (D-Fitchburg)
Rep. Natalie Higgins (D-Leominster)
Rep. Russell E. Holmes (D-Boston)
Rep. John J. Lawn (D-Watertown)
Rep. David Leboeuf (D-Worcester)
Rep. Jack Patrick Lewis (D-Ashland)
Rep. Jay Livingstone (D-Back Bay, Boston)
Rep. Paul Mark (D-Peru)
Rep. Paul McMurtry (D-Dedham)
Rep. Elizabeth Poirier (R-North Attleborough)
Rep. Alan Silvia (D-Fall River)
Rep. Steven Ultrino (D-Malden)
Rep. Aaron Vega (D-Holyoke)
Rep. Jonathan D. Zlotnik (D-Gardner) 

Let’s keep the momentum going

New legislators
These new legislators who haven’t committed to co-sponsoring the bill need an extra push since they’re brand new. If you live in their districts, schedule an appointment with them, call them, or email them, share your story if you choose, and bring this flyer with you or attach it to your email in the next week.

You can use one of these sample emails (the automated emails have not yet been updated by our third party for new legislators).

Senators
Senator Barry Finegold (2nd Essex and Middlesex replacing Barbara L’Italien)
Senator Becca Rausch (Norfolk, Bristol, and Middlesex replacing Richard Ross)

Representatives
Rep. Dan Carey (2nd Hampshire serving Easthampton, Granby, Hadley, and South Hadley replacing John Scibak)
Rep. Michelle Ciccolo (15th Middlesex serving Lexington and Woburn replacing Jay Kaufman) 
Rep. Nika Elugardo (15th Suffolk serving parts of Boston replacing Jeff Sánchez)
Rep. Tami Gouveia (14th Middlesex serving Acton, Carlisle, Chelmsford, and Concord replacing Cory Atkins)
Rep. Richard Haggerty (30th Middlesex serving Reading and Woburnreplacing James Dwyer)
Rep. Patrick Kearney (4th Plymouth serving Marshfield and Scituatereplacing James Cantwell)
Rep. Kathleen LaNatra (12th Plymouth serving Kingston, Plymouth, Halifax, Duxbury, Middleboro, and Plympton filling a vacancy)
Rep. Christina Minicucci (14th Essex serving Haverhill, Lawrence, Methuen, and North Andover and replacing Diana DiZoglio, longtime supporter who became State Senator replacing Kathleen O’Connor Ives)
Rep. Normal Orrall (12th Bristol serving Berkley, Taunton, Lakeville, and Middleborough and replacing Keiko Orrall)
Rep. Dave Robertson (19th Middlesex serving Tewksbury and Wilmington filling a vacancy)
Rep. Lindsay Sabadosa (1st Hampshire serving Hatfield, Northampton, Southampton, Westhampton, and Montgomery)
Rep. Jon Santiago (9th Suffolk serving parts of Boston replacing Byron Rushing)
Rep. Mike Soter (8th Worcester serving Blackstone, Millville, Uxbridge, and Bellingham and replacing Kevin Kuros)
Rep. Alyson Sullivan (7th Plymouth serving Abington, East Bridgewater, and Whitman and replacing Geoff Diehl)

Veteran Legislators
Keep the pressure on and the topic top of mind. Schedule a meeting with, call, or email your state legislators in the next week — even if you’ve contacted them before —and share with them your story if you choose and why you want protections for workplace abuse targets. We’ll contact our legislators again when we get a docket number by the end of the month so they can officially sign on as co-sponsors.
 
Find your MA state legislators (not updated for new legislators) »

If you want to do more or you’re in another state
Email these legislators telling them in your own words why you want workplace abuse legislation to pass and ask them if they’ll commit to co-sponsoring the Healthy Workplace Bill this session. (If you’d like to use a template instead, find options on our website.) Ask them if they could let you know their concerns about the bill if they oppose it:

Legislators who haven’t committed to co-sponsoring yet this session:
Mike.Barrett@masenate.gov, Joseph.Boncore@masenate.gov, Michael.Brady@masenate.gov, William.Brownsberger@masenate.gov, Harriette.Chandler@masenate.gov, Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov, Nick.Collins@masenate.gov, Cynthia.Creem@masenate.gov, brendan.crighton@masenate.gov, Sal.DiDomenico@masenate.gov, Diana.DiZoglio@masenate.gov, James.Eldridge@masenate.gov, Ryan.Fattman@masenate.gov, Barry.Finegold@masenate.gov, Cindy.Friedman@masenate.gov, adam.hinds@masenate.gov, Donald.Humason@masenate.gov, Patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov, John.Keenan@masenate.gov, edward.kennedy@masenate.gov, eric.lesser@masenate.gov, Jason.Lewis@masenate.gov, Joan.Lovely@masenate.gov, Mark.Montigny@masenate.gov, Marc.Pacheco@masenate.gov, Rebecca.Rausch@masenate.gov, Michael.Rodrigues@masenate.gov, Mike.Rush@masenate.gov, Karen.Spilka@masenate.gov, Bruce.Tarr@masenate.gov, dean.tran@masenate.gov, James.Welch@masenate.gov, James.Arciero@mahouse.gov, Brian.Ashe@mahouse.gov, Bruce.Ayers@mahouse.gov, Christine.Barber@mahouse.gov, john.barrett@mahouse.gov, F.JayBarrows@mahouse.gov, Jennifer.Benson@mahouse.gov, Donald.Berthiaume@mahouse.gov, David.Biele@mahouse.gov, Natalie.Blais@mahouse.gov, Nicholas.Boldyga@mahouse.gov, Antonio.Cabral@mahouse.gov, Daniel.Cahill@mahouse.gov, Linda.Campbell@mahouse.gov, peter.capano@mahouse.gov, daniel.carey@mahouse.gov, Gerard.Cassidy@mahouse.gov, Tackey.Chan@mahouse.gov, michelle.ciccolo@mahouse.gov, Edward.Coppinger@mahouse.gov, William.Crocker@mahouse.gov, Claire.Cronin@mahouse.gov, Daniel.Cullinane@mahouse.gov, Mark.Cusack@mahouse.gov, Josh.Cutler@mahouse.gov, Angelo.D’Emilia@mahouse.gov, Michael.Day@mahouse.gov, Marjorie.Decker@mahouse.gov, David.DeCoste@mahouse.gov, Robert.DeLeo@mahouse.gov, marcos.devers@mahouse.gov, mindy.domb@mahouse.gov, Paul.Donato@mahouse.gov, Shawn.Dooley@mahouse.gov, William.Driscoll@mahouse.gov, michelle.dubois@mahouse.gov, Peter.Durant@mahouse.gov, Carolyn.Dykema@mahouse.gov, Lori.Ehrlich@mahouse.gov, nika.elugardo@mahouse.gov, Tricia.Farley-Bouvier@mahouse.gov, Kimberly.Ferguson@mahouse.gov, Ann-Margaret.Ferrante@mahouse.gov, Michael.Finn@mahouse.gov, Carole.Fiola@mahouse.gov, Paul.Frost@mahouse.gov, William.Galvin@mahouse.gov, Denise.Garlick@mahouse.gov, Colleen.Garry@mahouse.gov, Susan.Gifford@mahouse.gov, Thomas.Golden@mahouse.gov, Carlos.Gonzalez@mahouse.gov, Ken.Gordon@mahouse.gov, tami.gouveia@mahouse.gov, Patricia.Haddad@mahouse.gov, richard.haggerty@mahouse.gov, Sheila.Harrington@mahouse.gov, Jonathan.Hecht@mahouse.gov, christopher.hendricks@mahouse.gov, Brad.Hill@mahouse.gov, Kate.Hogan@mahouse.gov, Kevin.Honan@mahouse.gov, Steven.Howitt@mahouse.gov, Daniel.Hunt@mahouse.gov, Randy.Hunt@mahouse.gov, Bradley.Jones@mahouse.gov, Louis.Kafka@mahouse.gov, Hannah.Kane@mahouse.gov, patrick.kearney@mahouse.gov, Mary.Keefe@mahouse.gov, james.kelcourse@mahouse.gov, Kay.Khan@mahouse.gov, Kevin.Kuros@mahouse.gov, kathleen.lanatra@mahouse.gov, David.Linsky@mahouse.gov, Marc.Lombardo@mahouse.gov, Adrian.Madaro@mahouse.gov, John.Mahoney@mahouse.gov, Liz.Malia@mahouse.gov, Ronald.Mariano@mahouse.gov, Christopher.Markey@mahouse.gov, Joseph.McGonagle@mahouse.gov, joseph.mckenna@mahouse.gov, Joan.Meschino@mahouse.gov, Aaron.M.Michlewitz@mahouse.gov, christina.minicucci@mahouse.gov, liz.miranda@mahouse.gov, Leonard.Mirra@mahouse.gov, Rady.Mom@mahouse.gov, Frank.Moran@mahouse.gov, Michael.Moran@mahouse.gov, David.Muradian@mahouse.gov, Mathew.Muratore@mahouse.gov, James.Murphy@mahouse.gov, Brian.Murray@mahouse.gov, David.Nangle@mahouse.gov, Harold.Naughton@mahouse.gov, tram.nguyen@mahouse.gov, Shaunna.O’Connell@mahouse.gov, James.O’Day@mahouse.gov, norman.orrall@mahouse.gov, Jerald.Parisella@mahouse.gov, Sarah.Peake@mahouse.gov, Alice.Peisch@mahouse.gov, Thomas.Petrolati@mahouse.gov, rep.smitty@mahouse.gov, Denise.Provost@mahouse.gov, Angelo.Puppolo@mahouse.gov, david.robertson@mahouse.gov, maria.robinson@mahouse.gov, Dave.Rogers@mahouse.gov, John.Rogers@mahouse.gov, Jeffrey.Roy@mahouse.gov, Dan.Ryan@mahouse.gov, lindsay.sabadosa@mahouse.gov, jon.santiago@mahouse.gov, Angelo.Scaccia@mahouse.gov, Paul.Schmid@mahouse.gov, Todd.Smola@mahouse.gov, michael.soter@mahouse.gov, Theodore.Speliotis@mahouse.gov, Thomas.Stanley@mahouse.gov, William.Straus@mahouse.gov, alyson.sullivan@mahouse.gov, Jose.Tosado@mahouse.gov, Paul.Tucker@mahouse.gov, Chynah.Tyler@mahouse.gov, andy.vargas@mahouse.gov, john.velis@mahouse.gov, David.Vieira@mahouse.gov, RoseLee.Vincent@mahouse.gov, tommy.vitolo@mahouse.gov, Joseph.Wagner@mahouse.gov, Thomas.Walsh@mahouse.gov, Timothy.Whelan@mahouse.gov, Susannah.Whipps@mahouse.gov, Bud.Williams@mahouse.gov, Donald.Wong@mahouse.gov
 
Find out who did — and didn’t — support legislation this past session »

One comment

  1. Jennifer

    Thanks for getting this legislation put through. I wish we could adopt the same legislation in Canada and the rest of the world too.

    People deserve a bullying free workplace!!
    It’s bad enough that we sometimes have to put up with abuse from customers. We should not have to take it from our bosses or coworkers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s