We just hit a record with workplace abuse legislation support. So what’s next?

Photo by JorgeArturo Andrade on Pexels.com
Wow! We’re still so excited about the progress we made last week. Our efforts paid off bigtime thanks to your tireless efforts. As Co-Coordinator and Bill Author David Yamada put it: “We have gone from being a novelty, to a presence, and now to a genuine force.” Kudos to everyone who made calls, sent emails, visited legislators, and told friends about the bill. We can’t thank you enough for your persistence on this bill, knowing bills often take 8+ years to pass (and we’re on 9).

It’s all proof your voice matters.

What’s next
For those new to the process, here’s what happens next in the two-year legislative session:
We testify at a hearing in front of the Joint Committee on Labor and Workforce Development sometime this spring. (It’s been anywhere from April to June in past sessions, and sometimes it’s announced last minute.) We welcome you to join us and make your voice heard (recommended guidelines to come).
The committee moves the bill to the Senate since it’s a Senate Bill. They have until sometime in February 2020 to make this step happen.
The Senate brings the bill to a floor vote.
The bill moves to the House. We wait for a floor vote.
Anything can happen at that point (changes that can go back to the Senate, for example). 
If the bill gets passed, it goes to the Governor’s desk for signing. Ninety days later, it becomes law.

In past sessions, we’ve made it as far as step 2 (which is huge considering the 6,000+ bills that get introduced in the State House).

The bill can get stalled at any point in the process for any reason. Our biggest obstacle is that the bill simply isn’t a priority compared to other issues. 

 
This session, we can change that
We found out last week that there’s something special about Senate bills (which ours is): the deadline for co-sponsorships extends to when the Joint Committee on Labor and Workforce Development moves the bill forward.

So we have the gift of MONTHS to keep the pressure on the remaining legislators who haven’t co-sponsored yet. We’ll get to keep the buzz about this bill going in the State House and continue to be a force. We’ll even run a couple more Lobby Days in the next couple months. (Stay tuned for more info.)

Our goal this session: 120 co-sponsors. We can do it.

 
See who’s already co-sponsored the bill


Calls of the week
Each week, we’ll handpick five legislators to all call and email to urge them to co-sponsor the bill.

Here are this week’s five legislators:
Senator Sonia Chang-Diaz (D-Boston), Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov, 617-722-1673 
Senator Nick Collins (D-Boston), Nick.Collins@masenate.gov, 617-722-1150
Senator Cynthia Creem (D-Newton), Cynthia.Creem@masenate.gov, 617-722-1639
Senator Vinny deMacedo (R-Plymouth), Vinny.deMacedo@masenate.gov, 617-722-1330 
Senator Ryan Fattman (R-Sutton), Ryan.Fattman@masenate.gov, 617-722-1420 

The process
Call 
If you live in the legislator’s district: Legislators care most about what their own constituents want so they can get re-elected. So if you live in the district of the legislator you’re calling, let whoever answers the phone know that upfront. Tell whoever answers the phone “Hi! My name is _____. I live in ______. I’m calling to ask _____ to sign onto Senate Docket Number 1355, an act addressing workplace bullying, mobbing, and harassment, without regard to protected class status. The lead sponsor is Senator Paul Feeney.” They may ask you your address.
If you DON’T live in the legislator’s district: You can still call. Tell whoever answers the phone “Hi! My name is _____. I’m calling with the Massachusetts Healthy Workplace Advocates to ask _____ to sign onto Senate Docket Number 1355, an act addressing workplace bullying, mobbing, and harassment, without regard to protected class status. The lead sponsor is Senator Paul Feeney.”

Followup with an email. Tell these legislators why you want them to sign onto Senate Docket Number 1355 and why you want the bill to pass. Include links to these flyers to explain the bill and the full text of the bill:
http://www.mahealthyworkplace.com/MAWorkplaceBullyingFactSheet.pdf
http://www.mahealthyworkplace.com/MAWorkplaceBullyingFactSheet3.pdf
https://malegislature.gov/Bills/191/SD1355

Ideas for angles to take in your email to make it different than your previous emails:
Addressing workplace bullying will address sexual harassment and #MeToo. Read this article from the LA Times to understand the connection so you can write about it in an email to legislators. Send them a link to the article.
Remind legislators of some of the most severe workplace abuse stories affecting Massachusetts residents:
https://www.facebook.com/mahealthyworkplace/videos/719345008426550/
https://www.facebook.com/mahealthyworkplace/videos/357907344985573/
https://www.facebook.com/mahealthyworkplace/videos/376359419574389/
Focus on abusers and their behavior. Stress the fact that this issue is a bully problem, not due to a flaw in targets. It’s about holding abusers accountable.
 
Ask others to do the same.
 
Find out who your State Rep and State Senator are


If you want to do more
Many of you have told us you’ll urge your friends in towns where we don’t have co-sponsorships to reach out to their legislators. So here’s who’s left to sign on so you know what districts we need calls and emails in. Forward this email onto friends in these towns:

Senator Mike Barrett (D-Lexington), Mike.Barrett@masenate.gov, 617-722-1572
Senator Michael Brady (D-Brockton), Michael.Brady@masenate.gov, 617-722-1200 
Senator William N. Brownsberger (D-Belmont), William.Brownsberger@masenate.gov, 617-722-1280 
Senator Harriette Chandler (D-Worcester), Harriette.Chandler@masenate.gov, 617-722-1544
Senator Sonia Chang-Diaz (D-Boston), Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov, 617-722-1673 
Senator Nick Collins (D-Boston), Nick.Collins@masenate.gov, 617-722-1150
Senator Cynthia Creem (D-Newton), Cynthia.Creem@masenate.gov, 617-722-1639
Senator Brendan Crighton (D-Lynn), brendan.crighton@masenate.gov, 617-722-1350 
Senator Vinny deMacedo (R-Plymouth), Vinny.deMacedo@masenate.gov, 617-722-1330 
Senator Ryan Fattman (R-Sutton), Ryan.Fattman@masenate.gov, 617-722-1420 
Senator Barry Finegold (D-Andover), Barry.Finegold@masenate.gov, 617-722-1612
Senator Cindy Friedman (D-Arlington), Cindy.Friedman@masenate.gov, 617-722-1432
Senator Adam Hinds (D-Pittsfield), adam.hinds@masenate.gov, 617-722-1625
Senator Patricia Jehlen (D-Somerville), Patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov, 617-722-1578
Senator John Keenan (D-Quincy), John.Keenan@masenate.gov, 617-722-1494
Senator Edward Kennedy (D-Lowell), edward.kennedy@masenate.gov, 617-722-1630
Senator Eric Lesser (D-Longmeadow), eric.lesser@masenate.gov, 617-722-1291
Senator Jason Lewis (D-Winchester), Jason.Lewis@masenate.gov, 617-722-1206
Senator Joan B. Lovely (D-Salem), Joan.Lovely@masenate.gov, 617-722-1410 
Senator Mark Montigny (D-New Bedford), Mark.Montigny@masenate.gov, 617-722-1440
Senator Marc Pacheco (D-Taunton), Marc.Pacheco@masenate.gov, 617-722-1551
Senator Karen Spilka (D-Ashland), Karen.Spilka@masenate.gov, 617-722-1500
Senator Walter Timilty (D-Milton), Walter.Timilty@masenate.gov, 617-722-1643 
Senator Dean Tran (R-Fitchburg), dean.tran@masenate.gov, 617-722-1230
Rep. Christine Barber (D-Medford), Christine.Barber@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2210 
Rep. John Barrett (D-N. Adams), john.barrett@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2400
Rep. Jay Barrows (R-Mansfield), F.JayBarrows@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2488
Rep. Jennifer Benson (D-Lunenburg), Jennifer.Benson@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2140
Rep. Donald Berthiaume (R-Worcester), Donald.Berthiaume@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2090
Rep. David Biele (D-Boston), David.Biele@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2425 
Rep. Nicholas Boldyga (R-Southwick), Nicholas.Boldyga@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2810
Rep. Paul Brodeur (D-Melrose), Paul.Brodeur@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2013 
Rep. Daniel Cahill (D-Lynn), Daniel.Cahill@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2020
Rep. Linda Dean Campbell (D-Methuen), Linda.Campbell@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2380
Rep. Peter Capano (D-Lynn), peter.capano@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2425 
Rep. Gerard Cassidy (D-Brockton), Gerard.Cassidy@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2396
Rep. Will Crocker (R-Centerville), William.Crocker@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2014
Rep. Claire D. Cronin (D-Easton), Claire.Cronin@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2396 
Rep. Mark Cusack (D-Boston), Mark.Cusack@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2637
Rep. Josh Cutler (D-Duxbury), Josh.Cutler@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2080
Rep. Angelo D’Emilia (R-Bridgewater), Angelo.D’Emilia@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2488
Rep. Michael Day (D-Stoneham), Michael.Day@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2210
Rep. David DeCoste (R-Plymouth), David.DeCoste@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2430
Rep. Robert DeLeo (D-Winthrop), Robert.DeLeo@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2500
Rep. Marcos Devers (D-Lawrence), marcos.devers@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2425 
Rep. Paul Donato (D-Medford), Paul.Donato@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2180
Rep. Shawn Dooley (R-Medfield), Shawn.Dooley@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2810
Rep. William Driscoll (D-Milton), William.Driscoll@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2400
Rep. Michelle DuBois (D-Brockton), michelle.dubois@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2011
Rep. Peter Durant (R-Spencer), Peter.Durant@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2060
Rep. Tricia Farley-Bouvier (D-Pittsfield), Tricia.Farley-Bouvier@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2240
Rep. Kimberly Ferguson (R-Holden), Kimberly.Ferguson@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2263
Rep. Dylan Fernandes (D-Falmouth), Dylan.Fernandes@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2430 
Rep. Michael Finn (D-W. Springfield), Michael.Finn@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2220
Rep. Paul Frost (R-Auburn), Paul.Frost@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2489
Rep. William Galvin (D-Canton), William.Galvin@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2692
Rep. Denise Garlick (D-Needham), Denise.Garlick@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2060
Rep. Colleen Garry (D-Dracut), Colleen.Garry@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2380
Rep. Susan Gifford (R-Wareham), Susan.Gifford@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2100
Rep. Thomas Golden (D-Lowell), Thomas.Golden@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2263
Rep. Ken Gordon (D-Bedford), Ken.Gordon@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2575
Rep. Patricia Haddad (D-Somerset), Patricia.Haddad@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2600
Rep. Richard Haggerty (D-Woburn), richard.haggerty@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2425 
Rep. Sheila Harrington (R-Groton), Sheila.Harrington@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2305
Rep. Christopher Hendricks (D-New Bedford), christopher.hendricks@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2425 
Rep. Brad Hill (R-Ipswich), Brad.Hill@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2100
Rep. Steven Howitt (R-Seekonk), Steven.Howitt@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2305
Rep. Randy Hunt (E-East Sandwich), Randy.Hunt@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2396
Rep. Bradley Jones (R-N. Reading), Bradley.Jones@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2100
Rep. Hannah Kane (R-Shrewsbury), Hannah.Kane@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2430
Rep. Mary Keefe (D-Worcester), Mary.Keefe@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2210
Rep. Kevin Kuros (R-Worcester), Kevin.Kuros@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2460
Rep. Kathleen LaNatra (D-Kingston), kathleen.lanatra@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2425 
Rep. David Linsky (D-Natick), David.Linsky@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2575
Rep. Marc Lombardo (R-Billerica), Marc.Lombardo@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2460
Rep. Ronald Mariano (D-Quincy), Ronald.Mariano@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2300
Rep. Christopher Markey (D-Dartmouth), Christopher.Markey@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2020
Rep. Joseph McGonagle (D-Everett), Joseph.McGonagle@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2017
Rep. Joseph McKenna (R-Worcester), joseph.mckenna@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2060
Rep. Joan Meschino (D-Hull), Joan.Meschino@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2320
Rep. Aaron Michlewitz (D-Boston), Aaron.M.Michlewitz@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2220
Rep. Leonard Mirra (R-Newbury), Leonard.Mirra@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2488
Rep. Rady Mom (D-Lowell), Rady.Mom@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2030
Rep. Frank Moran (D-Lawrence), Frank.Moran@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2400
Rep. Michael Moran (D-Brighton), Michael.Moran@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2014
Rep. David Muradian (R-Worcester), David.Muradian@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2240
Rep. James Murphy (D-Weymouth), James.Murphy@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2575
Rep. Brian Murray (D-Milford), Brian.Murray@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2460
Rep. David Nangle (D-Lowell), David.Nangle@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2520
Rep. Harold Naughton (D-Clinton), Harold.Naughton@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2230
Rep. Shaunna O’Connell (R-Taunton), Shaunna.O’Connell@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2305
Rep. Norman Orrall (R-Lakeville), norman.orrall@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2425 
Rep. Sarah Peake (D-Provincetown), Sarah.Peake@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2040
Rep. Alice Hanlon Peisch (D-Wellesley), Alice.Peisch@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2070 
Rep. Thomas Petrolati (D-Ludlow), Thomas.Petrolati@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2255
Rep. Will (Smitty) Pignatelli (D-Lenox), rep.smitty@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2210
Rep. John Rogers (D-Norwood), John.Rogers@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2092
Rep. Dan Ryan (D-Charlestown), Dan.Ryan@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2060
Rep. Angelo Scaccia (D-Readville), Angelo.Scaccia@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2230
Rep. Paul Schmid (D-Westport), Paul.Schmid@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2017
Rep. Michael Soter (R-Bellingham), michael.soter@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2425 
Rep. Theodore Speliotis (D-Danvers), Theodore.Speliotis@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2410
Rep. William Straus (D-Mattapoisett), William.Straus@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2400
Rep. Alyson Sullivan (R-Abington), alyson.sullivan@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2425 
Rep. Jose Tosado (D-Springfield), Jose.Tosado@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2460
Rep. Joseph Wagner (D-Chicopee), Joseph.Wagner@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2370
Rep. Thomas Walsh (D-Peabody), Thomas.Walsh@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2676
Rep. Timothy Whelan (R-Barnstable), Timothy.Whelan@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2014
Rep. Donald Wong (R-Saugus), Donald.Wong@mahouse.gov, 617-722-2488


As always, we thank you for your dedication to this cause.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s