Put pressure on committee members to move workplace abuse legislation forward


We think we’ll have a hearing date before July, and it looks like we’ll get about two weeks notice for the hearing date. If you’d like to testify, prep your story now.

In the meantime, let’s put pressure on members of the Joint Committee on Labor and Workforce Development. Last session, this bill sat with this committee for about eight months before it moved forward, leaving little time to move the bill through the rest of the session. This session, we can put pressure on the committee members, especially Senate Chair Pat Jehlen of Medford, Somerville, Cambridge wards 9 to 11, and Winchester, precincts 4 to 7 (Patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov, (617) 722-1578 (aide: Mark Martinez, mark.martinez@masenate.gov)). We can educate her on the nuances of the bill.

Legislators care most about what their own constituents want so they can get re-elected, so we ask you to meet with your legislator if he or she is on this committee (members are listed below). If you can’t meet with your legislator:

  1. Call your own legislator if he or she is on the list below. Tell whoever answers the phone “I’m calling to ask _____ to move Senate Bill 1072, an act addressing workplace bullying, mobbing, and harassment, without regard to protected class status, through the Joint Committee on Labor and Workforce Development. The lead sponsor is Senator Paul Feeney.” They may ask you your name and address.
  2. Followup with an email. Tell the legislator why you want him or her to help move Senate Bill 1072 forward and why you want the bill to pass. Include links to these flyers to explain the bill and the full text of the bill:
    LA Times article: “To end sexual harassment on the job, end workplace bullying” 
  3. Ask others who live in their districts to do the same. (Find out if someone is in a legislator’s district.)

Joint Committee on Labor and Workforce Development

Senate Members:

CHAIR: Senator Patricia Jehlen (D-Somerville)Patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov, (617) 722-1578 (aide: Mark Martinez, mark.martinez@masenate.gov)
VICE CHAIR: Senator Jason Lewis (D-Melrose)Jason.Lewis@masenate.gov, (617) 722-1206
Senator Sal DiDomenico (D-Everett)Sal.DiDomenico@masenate.gov, (617) 722-1650
Senator John Keenan (D-Quincy)John.Keenan@masenate.gov, (617) 722-1494
Senator Michael O. Moore (D-Worcester)Michael.Moore@masenate.gov, (617) 722-1485
Senator Patrick O’Connor (R-Scituate)Patrick.OConnor@masenate.gov, (617) 722-1646

House Members:
CHAIR: Rep. Paul Brodeur (D-Melrose)Paul.Brodeur@mahouse.gov, (617) 722-2013
VICE CHAIR: Rep. Stephan Hay (D-Fitchburg)Stephan.Hay@mahouse.gov, (617) 722-2220
Rep. John Barrett III (D-Adams)john.barrett@mahouse.gov, (617) 722-2305
Rep. Gerard Cassidy (D-Brockton)Gerard.Cassidy@mahouse.gov, (617) 722-2396
Rep. William Crocker (R-Barnstable)William.Crocker@mahouse.gov, (617) 722-2014
Rep. Jim Hawkins (D-Attleboro)james.hawkins@mahouse.gov, (617) 722-2013
Rep. Liz Malia (D-Boston)Liz.Malia@mahouse.gov, (617) 722-2380
Rep. Joseph McKenna (R-Douglas)joseph.mckenna@mahouse.gov, (617) 722-2060
Rep. David Allen Robertson (D-Wilmington)david.robertson@mahouse.gov, (617) 722-2210
Rep. Steve Ultrino (D-Malden)Steven.Ultrino@mahouse.gov, (617) 722-2460
Rep. Susannah Whipps (I-Athol)Susannah.Whipps@mahouse.gov, (617) 722-2090

If you live in Senate President Karen Spilka’s district (Ashland), we ask you to do the same:
Senator Karen Spilka (D-Ashland), Karen.Spilka@masenate.gov, 617-722-1500

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s